Wednesday, December 10, 2014

Interview & Give Away: The Shadow by Jill Cooper

The DreamSlayer Banner shadow
As a paladin champion, it is Natalie’s job to deal with the undead with quick judgment or else run the risk of major casualties. But when evidence surfaces that some demonires don’t want to feed off humans, Natalie is faced with a moral dilemma that goes against her closest ally and the moral code of the position she holds. With human foes and demonire allies, Natalie Johnson is about to make a decision she might never be able to take back. Meanwhile a deep-seated anger threatens to destroy the principles she holds most dear. In the tradition of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, The Shadow contains mature themes balanced with humor and quirky situations.

Buy on Amazon

Reading Order:
The Dream Slayer (perma- free) - 
Demon Royale - 
The Uninvited: Novella - 
Dawning Apocalypse - 
Frozen Reverie - 
Sacrifice: Novella - 
Necromancer's Kiss: Novella - 
Shadow - 
Resolve: Coming Soon Fury Finale: Coming Soon  

jillcooperAbout the Author:

I could write this in the third person. I could tell you what I like, where I was born, and what my favorite things are.

But instead, I'll say I don't want to write like everyone else. I don't want to craft stories you've read a thousand times before. I want my novels to be a cinematic experience, blending themes, genres, and situations unlike any you've ever read.

I want to break the rules. I want you to break out in a cold sweat as you read my books out of fear, love, and excitement. I want my books to be an experience. When you finish, I want you to feel something. Good or bad.

If you do, then I'll have succeeded. If not, I'll keep trying. Website | Twitter | Facebook

Follow The Tour


The Dream Slayer series is coming to its epic ending December 18, 2015. Seven books and three novellas long, the journey for Natalie hasn’t been easy. Now a formidable leader and champion for an entire town, she gets ready to put it all on the line one last time to save her mentor’s soul from being destroyed—and the town right along with it.

Tell us more about the complete series
I really wanted the 7 books (and 3 novellas) to be a journey from an awkward teen to a formidable leader and warrior. So while Natalie was a bullied teen and it left her mousy and, that’s not who she really is. It’s all about her journey and how she evolves into the person that she was always meant to be.

Tell us more about that and the final two books in the series Resole and Fury: 
Natalie has grown a lot over the course of these books. She’s gone from a mousy girl to a real leader, a champion. She governs with confidence but it’s not without its costs. She’s on the cusp of an eating disorder thanks to all her additional pressures, and her love life is falling apart.
In the final two books Natalie must push all the personal stuff aside to save her oldest and dearest friend from demon possession, and destroying the entire town. It even pits her against the organization she’s supposed to work for.

Oh, that sounds interesting!
I can’t say too much without giving the plot away, but for part of the book Natalie definitely feels like the supernatural version of Jack Bauer.  The book gets heavy in the death, betrayal, and destruction, but all of the heros get their shining moments. I even got to play with a few themes and characters we haven’t seen since book 1 and book 2, Demon Royale.

I really tried to address these last two books as a series finale would on Supernatural, or Buffy, whatever your favorite paranormal show is. I want it to go out with a bang.
And have everyone ready next year when the NA series will debut ;)

Jill is giving away a fabulous Fiction With Bite Tote Bag and Signed Paperback of Resolve (Book 6 in the DS Series) a Rafflecopter giveaway

No comments:

Post a Comment